Balance

by neurobride

It’s amazing how things come around right when you need them. I’ve made a point of adding any movie (new or old) that caught my attention to my Netflix cue. Today in the mail was “I Don’t Know How She Does It” (brief synopsis: A comedy centered on the life of Kate Reddy, a finance executive who is the breadwinner for her husband and two kids; imdb.com – and nothing goes according to their “plan”)

So her life is crazy – worse than mine even with the consideration that this is fictional. And you want to know what I learned? When you work your ass off and are actually good at what you do, it’s okay to say no. It’s also acceptable to set boundaries, take a vacation, etc. I see/hear myself complaining and dreading 90% of the things I have to do on a daily basis because I don’t take time to do the things that I want to do often enough.

Today, the wienersaur got a 30 minute walk before work, completed a 7.5 hour day, did all of the dishes, caught up completely on laundry then wrapped up with 35 minutes of this little gem. Yes, I’m bragging about myself, but it helps keep me sane. So now, to take my own advice, I’m off to make some of this, then sit on my couch (reading a textbook, of course).